Talk about crazy, this was it

Lawrence Edward Hinchee
2 min readJun 28, 2022

In the early 1980’s I was stationed at Ft. Carson, Colorado. I also coached a youth soccer team on base. I happened to own a 1965 Pontiac Catalina. The kids I coached were military dependents. We were an excellent team. That season, we won 12 games lost zero and tied zero, scored 144 goals and gave up nine. We also won three competitive tournaments.

There was a twelve-year-old boy on my team named Adam and he lived on a country road, with little to no traffic. Sometimes I would let him drive from the road to his house. I would always encourage him to take his time and be careful.

I showed him how to move over for oncoming traffic, since only one car could pass at a time. The smile on his face was priceless, I could tell he was nervous. All it would take was an encouraging word from me and he would calm down.

His parents had no issues with him driving. He was the only kid I let drive my car. I still think of him from time to time and the good times we had together. Us bonding and I wonder if as an adult now, that he remembers his coach that let him drive at age twelve?

--

--

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a published author. Book Titled Silent Cries A Memoir. I am a writer, photographer and author. I write under the pen name Brent Seheult. I also read a lot