I missed gun violence awareness day

Lawrence Edward Hinchee
3 min readJun 3, 2022

I missed gun violence awareness day. I apologize, I really do because I was dealing with my PTSD and anxiety yesterday. I didn’t do hardly anything. Despite my support of the second amendment and gun rights, I take time to recognize those killed by gun violence. Many gun owners do, but I have personal reasons for recognizing victims of gun violence.

I have been through more shooting than you can imagine or care to guess. I took my children to the memorial for the Chuck E Cheese Shooting in Aurora CO in 1992, when my seventeen year old soccer player was killed by a disgruntled former employee. I had coached him for six years.

I took my school age children to the candle light vigil for Columbine High School because we lived fifteen miles from the school. Oh by the way, The Colorado Avalanche were in the Stanley Cup Playoffs against the Los Angeles Kings when this happened. They asked that the first two games that was supposed to be in CO be delayed and start the series in Los Angeles. The NHL Agreed and so di the Kings. Matter of fact because most of the players on the Avalanche used kids from Columbine to babysit and they were at the vigil also. Despite not knowing any of the victims at Columbine we still attended, to show support for the community.

I attended the memorial for Virginia Tech because I lived in Roanoke, VA at the…

--

--

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a published author. Book Titled Silent Cries A Memoir. I am a writer, photographer and author. I write under the pen name Brent Seheult. I also read a lot