Germany

Lawrence Edward Hinchee
4 min readFeb 21, 2022

When I first arrived in Germany the country was still divided between East and West. I arrived in Frankfurt as required and on time. When I arrived in Frankfurt it was my first time being away from the home shores of the United States and it was intimidating to me. I had never been this far from Roanoke, VA. I was just eighteen and scared to death to experience anything that adventurous my first night so I stayed in the barracks. We were processed into the European theater and I was surprised by how quick the Army had this done.

I was sent to the extreme northern portion of Germany halfway between Bremen and Bremerhaven. It was in this area I started to find myself, and to break away from that shy scared abused boy of my youth. My first night in my room I was asked if I wanted to go to Bremen to drink some beer and I said sure. My roommates said don’t worry we will have you home in time and laughed. I had the normal responsibilities of any new soldier arriving at their first military installation, that deer in the headlights look. As I settled into my new surroundings, many thoughts crossed my mind such as how could a citizenry let a half crazed maniac destroy such a beautiful country.

I found it interesting that German families in conjunction with the US military, would have American soldiers in their houses for the holidays. The Germans would adopt a soldier for Christmas. I never participated…

--

--

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a published author. Book Titled Silent Cries A Memoir. I am a writer, photographer and author. I write under the pen name Brent Seheult. I also read a lot